My lovely Gran

My Gran was diagnosed with breast cancer over 20 years ago when I was a student away at university.  She had only lost her youngest son David to lung cancer a short while before after an extremely long battle with the disease.  She therefore didn’t go to the doctors about the lump she knew was growing and it was found by chance when she was invited for a routine mammogram.  She was extremely lucky.  She had surgery and then radio-therapy and was put on a course of drugs including the now famous tamoxifen. Thankfully she is still with us, now in her late 80’s.

Gran is a survivor. Her treatment got rid of her cancer and over twenty years later she is alive to tell the tale.  There’s only one reason for this – research! Research! RESEARCH!

Money spent on cancer research has increased our understanding of many breast cancers and its enabled those clever scientists to come up with new drugs to stop it growing and spreading.  There are new ways of operating to remove tumours and more targeted radiotherapies to get rid of any remaining cancer cells.

So many cancer sufferers are still alive today because of money spent on cancer research.  And I am SO happy that my grandmother was one of those to benefit from the generosity of people who have donated to cancer research in the past.  Without them she probably wouldn’t be here today.  So my Gran, my family and I thank those people who donated and helped to save her life.  Now you have a unique opportunity to be the heroes of the future.  Donate today and you will be helping other people to survive cancer who might not have done so otherwise.

Go on – be the lifeline to another person. Sponsor me at http://www.raceforlifesponsorme.org/onepint

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a comment